Look Inside The Pigeon Coop

IMG_4612 IMG_3611IMG_4471

Blogging…to be honest with you, this is not something I would have ever contemplated doing. I mean, I am a chef who works in average 12 hours a day, not a writer! But here is the thing, as my customers very often ask me for recipes or advise, my fiancée and I thought it might be a good idea to write down my most popular recipes and to share them with the world (or at least with my guests, friends and family 🙂 ). Now here is the deal, I am well aware that the culinary vocabulary can get very complicated, and cooking should be fun and enjoyable, this is the reason why I wanted each of my recipes to be straight forward, yet efficient. I suppose it is now time to introduce myself ( I promise this will be short).

My name is Patrick Mc Ellin. I am currently the head chef of the only Irish and French fusion bistro in Galway, since its opening in 2014. Winning a Michelin recommendation after only eight months, and another one a year later, the bistro has quickly become a popular spot among locals and tourists. I am lucky to share my passion for food with Rebecca, my French partner, who also happens to work with me as the front of house manager & most recently as my personal PA and blogger :). My love for cooking started from a very young age, watching mum making dinners to gran baking cakes, these smells and memories are still very present. I was always very eager to learn different types of cuisine and  work in different kitchens. From my apprenticeship in Ballynahinch Castle, Connemara, to working in Bibendum, London, to name a few; from moving to Sydney where I worked in fine-dining establishments but also tried my hand at Moroccan and tapas restaurants, to all my travels around Asia & America; from my numerous trips to France eating in local bistros, drinking cheese and eating wine, to my love for the West of Ireland, and all its incredible produce, I have finally decided it was time for me to share this unconditional love with you. The Pigeon Coop is a diary full of my favourite recipes. I hope you will enjoy them as much as I am enjoying sharing them with you 🙂

P

Please note that if you are ever stuck & need some help or advise in relation to cooking, don’t hesitate to contact me at: contact.talesofachef@gmail.com and I’ll try my best to answer you questions.

image

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Danny says:

    Eating wine and drinking cheese?

    Like

  2. That’s the way we roll 😉

    Like

  3. John McEllin says:

    Love it, the thought process is good and lots of story’s to tell, keep writing.
    Great. John.

    Like

Leave a comment